Becoming an Adult

I pose the question: When are you an adult (in the USA)? At age 13 (Jewish), 15 (Hispanic), 16 (freedom of driving), 18 (military/voting), 21 (drinking), 25 (renting a car), or when you pay for your own cell phone? The USA is confused about coming of age. Now you can debate whether it should be yesterday I was a boy and today I am a man (but I still respect the older men cause they know more), or if a “teenage/young adult” period of coming of age is better, but come on when is someone an adult?

This question has bugged me, mostly cause not everyone matures at the same rate. Also who says that one day makes that much difference in whether you are responsible or not.

Another reason this question swirls around my head is that two friends of mine said “Welcome to adulthood” on my 21st birthday, but the irony is I feel like of all my friends they are not acting much like mature adults.

So when do you become an adult? But a more practical question is when/how do you treat others as adults?

The day the child realizes that all adults are imperfect, he becomes an adolescent; the day he forgives them, he becomes an adult; the day he forgives himself, he becomes wise – Alden Nowlan

One thought on “Becoming an Adult

Leave a Reply

